Wat Intharam is an active temple located north of the city island. It was first featured on Phraya Boran Rachathanin’s 1926 map. It is generally believed by locals that it existed during the Ayutthaya period, but evidence supporting this idea is unclear. Most of the architectural structures at this monastery date to the Ratanakosin period.
In situ are the typical constructions of a modern monastery: a sermon hall, monk’s quarters, bell tower, crematory tower, and mondop. The ubosot is decorated with some colorful paintings, and a standing Buddha image with right palm raised is encased behind glass at the entrance. A crowned Buddha image in the Taming Mara pose sits inside the ubosot as its primary feature. The mondop contains a single Buddha footprint. One side of the mondop showcases two Buddha statues, which are meditating in front of a Wheel of Dharma painting. Another side of the mondop has a pot-bellied Buddha in the Chinese style.
The history of Wat Intharam is unknown. There were two Siamese kings that ruled with this name. Royal Chronicles also point out that concubines gave birth to three royal sons. One bore the title of Holy Traiphuwanathittayawong, one His Holiness Thong, and the third was named Holy Intharam (Cushman 217).