Text & Map by Tricky Vandenberg - September 2010
Although this page is not straight related to the Ayutthayan Era, it is interesting to have
an idea how the administrative structure of Ayutthaya Province evolved after the fall of
Ayutthaya in the early Ratanakosin Period (1782-1932).

Following the laws at that time Jangwat Krung Kao consisted of Krung Kao (1) itself
and four districts [Th: Khwaeng] outside the city. The area outside the
city walls was
called Khwaeng Rob Krung (2). Khwaeng Uthai was situated adjacent Khwaeng Rob
Krung, and expanding east and south towards to the provincial boundary. Khwaeng
Nakhon was situated adjacent Khwaeng Rob Krung and Khwaeng Uthai
and expanding to the north and the northwest. Khwaeng Sena was situated adjacent
Khwaeng Rob Krung and Khwaeng Nakhon districts and expanding from
the northwest to the south. [1]

From Rama IV (King Mongkut - r.1851-1868) until Rama VI (King Vajiravudh - r.
1910-1925) the administrative division of the province will undergo some changes. Due
to population growth and increase in the province, the four districts were split up,
so that the number increased from four to seven districts: Khwaeng Uthai split up in
Uthai Yai and Uthai Noi; Khwaeng Nakhon split up in Nakhon Yai and Nakhon Noi;
Khwaeng Sena split up in Sena Yai and Sena Noi. [1]

In 1893 Monthon Krung Kao (3) was created, consisting of the provinces Krung Kao
(present Ayutthaya), Ang Thong, Lop Buri, Phrom Buri, and Sara Buri. Krung
Kao was one of the first monthons established as a trial of  the "Thesaphiban"
administrative system, introduced by Prince Damrong Rajanubhab; a system officialised
by the Local Administration Act of 1897.

In 1895 new changes in the administration occurred and two more districts
were created bringing the number at eleven (the city not included): Nakhon Yai and
Nakhon Noi were split up, establishing the Khwaeng Nakhon Klang and Khwaeng
Nakhon Nai; Sena Yai and Sena Noi were split up, establishing Khwaeng Sena Klang
and Khwaeng Sena Nai. Khwaeng Uthai Noi was renamed Phra Racha Wang. The
eleven districts were as thus: Rob Krung, Uthai Yai, Phra Racha Wang, Nakhon Yai,
Nakhon Noi, Nakhon Nai, Nakhon Klang, Sena Yai, Sena Noi, Sena Nai and Sena
Klang. [1]

Later a part of Khwaeng Uthai Yai and Khwaeng Nong Khae in Saraburi Province
became Khwaeng Uthai Noi, the twelfth district. In 1904 Khwaeng Nakhon Klang was
renamed Amphur Nakhon Luang. [2]

In 1915, Monthon Krung Kao was expanded with two provinces: Thanyaburi and
Pathum Thani.

In 1917 in the reign of Rama VI the administrative division of Krung Kao Province was
again altered: Uthai Yai was renamed Uthai; Uthai Noi was renamed Wang Noi; Phra
Racha Wang was renamed Bang Pa-In; Nakhon Yai was renamed Maha Rat; Nakhon
Noi was renamed Tha Rua; Nakhon Nai was renamed Bang Pahan; Sena Yai was
renamed Phak Hai; Sena Noi was renamed Racha Khram; Sena Klang was renamed
Sena; Sena Nai was renamed Bang Ban. Monthon Krung Kao was officially changed
into Jangwat Krung Kao. [3]

On 19 March 1918 Jangwat Krungkao was renamed Jangwat Phra Nakhon Sri
Ayutthaya and Monthon Krung Kao became Monthon Ayutthaya. [4] The monthon
system was finally abolished with the Provincial Administration Act of 1933; a year after
the "coup d'état", changing the absolute monarchy into a democracy.

On 17 April 1939 Amphur Racha Khram was renamed Bang Sai
(บางไทร). [5]

Presently there are sixteen districts in Ayutthaya Province. Most of the earlier mentioned
districts still exists and four more were created in the 20th century. Tambon Ban Phraek
split off from Maha Rat District in 1937 to become a "King Amphur" or "branched"
district, becoming a full-grown district in 1959.  Tambon Lat Bua Luang split off from
Bang Sai District (
บางไทร) and became a district itself in 1947. Bang Sai (บางซ้าย) was
created as a branched district (King Amphur) in 1947 and split off  from Sena district.
[6]. It was upgraded to a full district in 1958. [7]. Phachi split off from Uthai District in

The 16 districts are presently: Phra Nakhon Sri Ayutthaya, Tha Ruea, Nakhon Luang,
Bang Sai (
บางไทร), Bang Ban, Bang Pa-In, Bang Pahan, Phak Hai, Phachi, Lat Bua
Luang, Wang Noi, Sena, Bang Sai (
บางซ้าย), Uthai, Maha Rat and Ban Phraek.


(1) Krung Khao can be translated as "Old City".
(2) Khwaeng is the old denomination of a modern district today. Khwaeng Rob Krung
can be translated as "the area around the city".  
(3) Monthon [Skt: mandala] can be translated as "circle", a collection of a number
provinces under a royal commissioner [Th: thesaphiban].   


[1] อธิบายแผนที่พระนครศรีอยุธยากับคำวินิจฉัยของพระยาโบราฌราชาธานินท์
ฉบับชำระครั้งที่๒ และ ภูมิสถนกรุงศรีอยุธยา (2007) - page 101,102.
[2] Royal Gazette of 30 August 1904 volume 20  page 353 - retrieved 06 Sep 2010 at
[3] Royal Gazette of 29 April 1917 volume 34 page 41- retrieved 06 Sep 2010 at http:
[4] Royal Gazette of 23 March 1919 volume 35 page 412 - retrieved 06 Sep 2010 at
[5] Royal Gazette of 17 April volume 56 page 359 - retrieved 06 Sep 2010 at http:
[6] Royal Gazette of 09 Dec 1947 volume 64 - retrieved 06 Sep 2010 at http://www.
[7] Royal Gazette of 22 Jul 1958 - retrieved 06 Sep 2010 at http://www.ratchakitcha.
(Former Krung Kao districts office)
(Former location of the districts office)